Long Time No See

Posted on December 4, 2009

5


Hello there!

I’m terribly sorry about my online absence as of late; I have been excessively busy, and I don’t mean busy in like I normally say I am, where I sleep a lot and watch TV, I mean I haven’t watched YouTube in three days busy. It’s been wierd, because I actually have a lot of blogs ideas, I just haven’t had the time to write them out fully, which is the exact reverse of how it normally goes. But I have many drafts that are one or two sentences long saved on here, to be completed someday.

Why have I been so busy you ask?

Well, we are fast approaching finals season, which takes preparation, plus I had to give speech today, and turn in a reading journal, which involves a lot more time and work than one might think.

The main reason I have been so busy, however, is because I just came from opening night of The Marraige of Bette and Boo, the play I’m working on. Three days ago, I was promoted from random lackey to turntable operator (if any of you saw Les Mis, that’s the kind of turntable I’m talking about, except this one actually works). While this is exciting and means I’m moving up in the world, it also means that everything I’ve learned the last two weeks about scene changes and moving furniture is useless, and I had to learn entirely new cues in three days.

Basically, my job is this:

This is where I live. I’m in an old basement/dressing/makeup room, and I have my little control panel and monitor, and mysterious hydraulic hoses and a massive engine thing, my baby, right by my feet. That glowing red light you see is my headset, which is like Jesus. (Not to be blasphemous or anything, but it really is my savior). I have my cue sheet taped to the controls. My job is to listen on the headset, and when Stage Manager Brian (or “Red Leader” as we like to call him) tells me to, I put the turntable (or Mr. Twirly as I’ve affectionately dubbed him) in gear (clockwise or counter-clockwise) and put it up to speed, depending on which cue it is. Then, when Red Leader tells me to, I turn it off. Sometimes it has to stop at a certain point. This is extremely difficult, because as you can probably tell, my monitor is to bright to see much of anything, and I don’t know where the remote is to adjust the settings. So, I am utterly dependent on my headset to get the proper timing (like I said, Jesus).

While it may not seem too difficult, this job is actually very stressful. As a backstage crew person, I was just “a crew person.” If I messed up, it was the crew’s fault. If there’s a problem with Mr. Twirly, everybody knows exactly who to blame. It doesn’t help that the turntable is actually a pretty important part of the show, but I suppose if you’re going to go through all the trouble of building a hydraulic turntable, you may as well use it as much as possible.

I have nightmares where all I hear is Brian’s voice in my ear saying, “standby turntable……… Turntable… GO….turntable…… turntable?…… turntable! Where the hell are you?! ” And then I wake up all freaked out and anxious. This happens multiple times a night.

Anyways, that’s what I’ve been up to, how about you?

Posted in: Drama