I Know You’re all Just Dying to Know, So…

Posted on January 23, 2010

3


Here’s a rather lengthy, vapid, laborious description of this semester’s classes:

Let’s pretend it’s a Monday, or maybe it really is a Monday, in the future, when you’re reading this. I don’t know. But if it’s not Monday, just do me a favor and pretend, ok? It’s not like it really matters, so just stop making such a big deal about it, jeez, kiddies, settle down.

Anyways, where was I before you threw your little tantrum? Oh right, classes.

Well, on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, I do the same thing.

I wake up at 7:00am, get dressed, and make the long, arduous journey to the coffee place and then to my lecture (the coffee place is probably 20 yards from my front door, and my class is directly above it). My class isn’t actually in a classroom, or a lecture hall for that matter, its in the Kate Buchanan room, which is the school conference hall, for business conferences and stuff. But, due to overcrowding, they have to use it for lectures, so at 8:00am I have a Botany lecture with 300 hundred other kid. And I don’t know what its like down south where y’all are, but up north, it’s still dark at 8:00. Nothing like hearing about plants while sitting in a metal folding chair when the sun hasn’t even come up yet.

During the course of the first 50-minute class, we covered all of my 7th grade year of life science (minus dissecting the frog, of course). During the second class, my teacher Dr. Tomescu, as we are to call him, since he holds a Ph.D. in Paleobotany (I didn’t even know that was a thing!), told us that this course has about a 30% failure rate and is very difficult. Yay! Also, there is no textbook for this class, which, I at first thought was a good thing, no extra money to fork over, and no assigned readings, right. Then I realized that that means that the only course materials I have to learn and study from are the notes I take during lecture. Yay! As you can tell, I’m really looking forward to this class.

Alright, kiddies, I’m tired and lazy.

More when I get around to it.

Posted in: HSU Happenings