BEDA #3: Dorm Life

Posted on April 3, 2010

3


I’m going through my old homework papers because it’s 10:30 at night and I need something to microwave my burrito on. I lean backwards in my chair, push against the desk with my legs to steady myself, and reach behind me. If do it just right, I can reach into the freezer without having to get up, or even take my headphones off. I unwrap my burrito and place it on the backside of an old English handout, I’m probably not going to need that again. The microwave finally works; I have to smack it a few times to get the keypad to respond, but in the end my burrito stays mostly frozen anyway, so I have to put it in for a few more minutes. I set all the legs of the chair down on the ground, and search through the forest of empty and mostly-empty bottles and cans on my desk, looking for the one that’s still cold and mostly-full. I settle down to eat just as an episode is ending, and I click the spacebar for the next one. Another elegant meal in Redwood North, #1021

Posted in: BEDA