BEDA #16: The Writing of a Research Essay: A Story Through Pictures –or– Procrastination: A Cautionary Tale

Posted on April 16, 2010

6


"Oh, research paper due in 18 hours? I better figure out what its going to be about. Let's do a mind map!"

.

.

.

.

.


Wow, this is taking forever.

.

.

.

.

.


For those of you who don't know how to do research for a paper, here's how you do it: You look up all your information on Wikipedia. Then, since you're not allowed to use Wikipedia, you have to go find "scholarly sources" that repeat all the information on Wikipedia so you can cite it.

.

.

.

.

.


.

.

.

.

.


This makes me want to rip the head off a puppy.

.

.


So does this.

.

.

.

.

.


Glorious sunset. Too bad I'm incarcerated in this library.

.

.

.

.

.


Coffee Break! (Also, change of location since I had to seek a wall outlet.)

.

.

.

.

.


Yes, I listen to classical piano music while I write argumentative research papers, because I'm cultured and deep like that.

.

.

.

.

.

Dance Break! (Listening to ABBA, if you were curious.)

.

.

.

.

.


I think this is the least fun my computer has ever had. Pity Me.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.


Distraction.

.

.

.

.

.


Score! Someone did a 20-page paper on Net neutrality! I kind of want to find Christopher E. Roberts and give him a hug.

.

.

.

.

.


I'm going to be trapped in this library forever.

.

.

.

.

.


Bad Romance break.

.

.

.

.

.


.

.

.

.

.


I am literally the only one in here.

.

.

.

.

.


.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.


My distractions are getting increasingly bizarre.

.

.

.

.

.


I didn't want to leave, really I didn't. They dragged me kicking and screaming out of the library. (But I did have a wonderful message on my board when I came back)

.

.

.

.

.


How thrilling do these windows look? (Bonus points if you can identify my wallpaper)

.

.

.

.

.


Ice Cream Break!

.

.

.

.

.

As the evening progresses, my spelling

of this word gets increasingly convoluted.

.

.

.

.

.


At a certain point, one begins to question the effect the stress is having on one's mental stability.

.

.

.

.

.


The last 25 words are completely eluding me. 1250 words, really? She couldn't have just made it 1200?

.

.

.

.

.


.

.

.

.

.


Coffee: breakfast of champions.

.

.

.

.

.


How could something that's less than a page long require so much time and effort?

.

.

.

.

.


Done! Finally!

.

.

.

.

.


This is an artistic re-creation of my reaction when I got to class and the teacher informed us that she had extended the deadline, and my paper isn't due until Monday.

Posted in: BEDA