BEDA #24: Things That Make Emily Depressed:

Posted on April 25, 2010

7


that physicists have all but abandoned the multiverse theory, because it’s unprovable, and most likely wrong. I don’t know the specifics, as I’m not a physicist, so when I read about the theory most of it went over my head, but in my mostly idealized largely fabricated layperson’s terms, here is what I comprehend of the multiverse:

it’s the idea that existence is made up of not just our universe, but an infinite number of parallel universes. One idea of how this would come about is that every time something happens, different universes would split off in which every possible consequence of that event would come about. Example:

I just knocked over an empty lemonade bottle on my desk. In this universe, I picked it up and threw it into my recycling bin. But there is a universe in which I left it there, there is a universe in which the bottle broke, shattered into a million pieces, and one piece landed in my eye. There is a universe in which the sound awoke my roommates, who then decided to kill me in sleep tonight, and there is a universe in which every other possible consequence of me knocking over the bottle came about. Of course, there are an infinite number of outcomes that could have just happened, and there is a universe in which each and every one of them did happen. And this is true of event that has ever happened ever.

I don’t know about you, but I think that is just about the most mind-blowing thing I’ve ever heard. I like to think about those other universes sometimes, those ones that I really, really wish existed but probably don’t. It’s an exercise in imagination.

There’s a universe where I’m dead. There are an infinite number of universes where I’m dead. There’s a universe where there is no gravity. There’s a universe where the law of non-contradiction doesn’t apply. There’s a universe where Harry, Ron and Hermione are having adventures in Middle Earth. There’s a universe where I didn’t knock over that old lemonade bottle on my desk. There’s a universe where Shakespeare never existed. There’s a universe where I was born in the Czech Republic in 1941. There’s a universe where I was born on Io, one of the moons of Jupiter. There’s a universe where David Tennant materializes in my dorm room tomorrow morning in a 1950’s police box and takes me away to have harrowing adventures with aliens in the future. There’s a universe where the head of the HSU English department is gored by a runaway florescent pink rhinoceros with an advertisement for Corona plastered on its side, and I don’t have to do my English portfolio.

Well, I like to think there is. But there probably isn’t, since in the advances that have been made since the multiverse theory was first proposed, it’s been pretty much rejected by the scientific community.

Sigh.

Posted in: BEDA