Summer Goals at Which I Failed

Posted on August 6, 2010

3


Pretty much every summer, I set goals that I want to complete by the next school year. Like New Year’s resolutions, except I figure I’ll have the time to actually do to something about these goals. Every year I fail epically at succeeding in these goals. This year, the ambition with which I set these goals, and the level at which I failed to complete them was on a scale I’ve never achieved before. As the summer comes to a close, and it becomes glaringly obvious that I have set myself a new bar of underachievement, I thought I’d share some of my failings with you.

Exercise 5 times a week. Ha! Last year, I managed to work out for about five hours a day, everyday. This year, however, my alarm went at 7am, and when I woke up 11, I discovered that someone had flung my clock across the room, where it hit my closet door and the battery fell out. I don’t know what happened.

Learn to play every song from Zelda: Ocarina of Time on the piano. There are twelve songs from the Zelda 64 game that are an integral part of game play. I succeeded in learning Zelda’s Lullaby, The Song of Storms, and part of the Nocturne of Shadow and Saria’s Song.

Learn to play “A Song About Acne” by Charlie McDonnell on the ukulele. It looks and sounds easy, but I’m convinced that Charlie is a ukulele prodigy, because it is freaking hard.

So, that’s it. Let’s all laugh at my failure. Ah ha ha ha ha ha! Alright, that’s enough. What have you failed at? Let me know in the comments, and we can turn my blog into a Failfest party!

Posted in: Uncategorized